Breaking: Comic Book Anthology Mini Series Set During Each Trilogy Announced

Maul age of republic cover.png

Prequel fans really have been spoiled at San Diego Comic Con this year haven’t they? Age of Republic, Age of Rebellion, and Age of Resistance will be a 30 issue comic maxi series following one after the other. Age of Republic will start this December with 8 issues, two per month, telling one hero story and one villain story. The series will end right as Episode IX is about to come out.

So far we have confirmation that the Republic pairings will be: Qui Gon and Maul, Obi-Wan and Jango, Anakin and Dooku, and Padme and Grievous. The series is to be written by Jody Houser (Rogue One comic adaptation, Thrawn comic adaptation, Forces of Destiny - Rey, and Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows) with art by Luke Ross (The Force Awakens comic adaptation, Thrawn comic adaptation, Darth Maul, and Captain America: The Winter Soldier).

 The next two series will follow the same format but for their respective eras. This is somewhat similar to how the “Republic” ongoing of the 2000s was directly replaced by “Dark Times” which directly followed lingering plot threads into the next era. Funnily enough Luke Ross drew issue 78 of the classic Republic comic run, which was the issue that first moved the book past the events of Revenge of the Sith. 

Continue following Channel 1138 on Twitter and Facebook for the latest and up to date stories about Movie News, Discussion, Reviews, and Gaming News.